A Little Regret with a lot of Joy!

Rhyan kissing a dolphinRecently we went on a family vacation.  It was something that my husband and I had been discussing to start doing in 2010.  But he died before we took our first family vacation.

Our vacation reminded me of this and seeing the joy on my Quincy kissing dolphinboys’ faces as they discovered new places was unbelievable.  It brings sadness, yet a lot of joy.  It made me realize how important I believe family vacations are.

We can come together for those days with nothing on our schedule.  No school, no work, no dishes to do.   There is only time to spend with each other.

We ventured out on our very first cruise.  We stopped in Jamaica and the Grand Cayman islands.  In Jamaica, my oldest swam with the dolphins.  My youngest was not old enough to swim, but he was able to kiss and hug a dolphin.  It is an experience that they will always remember.

Those are the memories I want my children to have, the memories that they will carry with them for the rest of their lives.
Kids go where there is excitement. They stay where there is love.” – Zig Ziglar

One thought on “A Little Regret with a lot of Joy!

  1. Growing up, my father worked full time (traveling Monday – Friday most of the year) and my mother stayed at home with my brothers and me. Our “family vacations” were road trips where we tagged-a-long with my dad to places such as Mesa, Arizona or other less-than vacationer-friendly locals. Some of my fondest childhood memories come from these trips. Playing in the hotel swimming pools, eating at roadside diners, “quiz” games in the car as we drove all day through the desert.

    You children will remember these times, not because of the fantastic places they visited, but because of the memories you made with them. Because you were there, for them, and with them. There is nothing better you can do. This is a beautiful story.

Leave a Reply

